Delete Account WordPress – Step by Step Guide

Now, we think it is important for you to know to some things before we get started. We say this because we are going to explain some relevant aspects related to WordPress in order to understand how this platform works and how we have to use it in the best way. Firstly, we thing it is good for you to understand how WordPress is. It is possible to define WordPress as an open source content management system which is designed with the goal of basing this tool on PHP.

Many people use this platform for a large amount of reason. For instance, it provides its users with a wide range of features including plugin architectures and template systems, in order to help you to design the best possible web content you can imagine. This was created for blogs, but it can also be used for supporting any kind of web content without any problem, such as forums and web stores. According to some sources, it has been used by more than 60 million webpages across the entire world.

Delete Account WordPress

Taking into account the large amount of users this platform has, it is possible to say that WordPress can be considered one of the most famous website management systems in the globe. This is due to all tools provided by the website and the great variety of web pages which it has helped to create. Even if it is one of the best websites of its kind, there are many people who want to close their account for many reasons. For this reason, we are going to explain how to delete account WordPress definitely.

What I have to do first to delete account WordPress definitely

If you have decided to delete your WordPress account definitely, there are some things you are required to do before. First of all, you need to know if your account has one of the following upgrades: Premium or Business plan, Premium Them, Domain Mapping, Custom Domain, and so on. If this is the case of your account, you are required to remove one or more upgrades you have. If you do not do this, you will not be able to close your WordPress account.

how Delete Account WordPress

When you are in the middle of the deletion process, you will probably read a message saying that you have active one or more premium upgrades on your account, so you are required to cancel all of them in order to delete your website successfully. If you see this message, it is possible that you have paid one or more upgrades associated with your WordPress account. This warning is made because you have to know what you will lose if you close you site definitely. With this warning, you can make a better choice.

Delete WordPress account

If you want to continue with the deletion process anyway, you have to tap on the Manage Upgrades option that appears in the warning. If you tap on this button, you will be redirected to the Purchases tab, which provides you with the links you need to cancel every upgrade you have in your account. In case you are not capable of canceling the upgrades, you have the possibility of contacting support for help. After doing this, you can go to Settings and start with the deletion process one more time.

What I have to do if my website is empty

There are some cases where a user has any blog that he/she has worked for a long time, but he/she are interested in starting with it one more time. If this is your case, there are two things you could do. The first thing you can do is to remove all the content you have included in your WordPress account. Once you have removed all this content, you have the option of maintaining your address without any problem. If you wat to remove everything, you are required to delete all categories, tags, media, pages, and posts.

The second option you have is to start with a new blog. If you want to do this, you have the option of having a new address, but with your previous account. In this case, you have the possibility of having a large amount of blogs with no limit.

How to delete account WordPress

Once you have checked the previous aspects, you are completely ready to start with the deletion process. The first thing you should do is to go to your website and look for the My Site option. Then, you are required to go to the Settings option. Once you are in Settings, you have to find the Delete Site and tap on it. Once you are in this option, you can read a warning saying that all your posts, images, data and the address will be deleted definitely. The warning also says that you will not have the option of recovering the website any more, so you have to be very sure before continuing with the process.

After doing that, you will be redirected to a tab saying that you can export your entire content if you want. Keep in mind that you will not have the option of recovering this content after deleting your account, so the best thing you can do is to export it to a ZIP file in order to avoid future problems. In case you want to do this, you are required to tap on the Export Content button and that is all. You probably think this content will not be important for you in the future, but you do not know if you will need it again.

Once you have exported all your content, you can proceed to delete you website in a definite way. Now, look for the Delete Site option and tap on it. In case you have a lot of websites in the account you want to delete, you need to be very sure that you are deleting the right address. Finally, you need to type the address you want to remove in the text box the platform will provide you. To put and end to the deletion process, tap on the Delete this Site button and that is all.

Delete Account WordPress – Step by Step Guide
5 (100%) 8 votes